Free text search Drop-down list search


Kota Kinabalu ( Borneo )

Common description

The city is located in the north-eastern coast of the island of Borneo in the South China Sea. The population of Kota Kinabalu is 617,972 people. It is the largest city in Sabah and the 6th largest in Malaysia.
Kota Kinabalu is also known as KK. KK is also one of the industrial and commercial centers of East Malaysia. These two factors have played a role in the fact that the city is one of the fastest growing cities in Malaysia.


The city is located on a narrow plain between the Crocker Range, in the east and the South China Sea in the west. Its 6 islands are also located along the city. The biggest is Gaya, the place of the first British colonies. It is home to about 8,000 people. The smaller islands, mostly uninhabited, called Sapi, Manukan, Sulug, Mamutik and Sepangar and are located in the north. Sepangar island located in the north of the national park, opposite the Gulf Sepangar.